Site Map

Israel & Judaism Studies - The Education Website of the NSW Jewish Board of Deputies

NSW Jewish Board of Deputies Affiliated Site

Search Go

You got here from Homebreadcrumbs separatorIsrael After 1948breadcrumbs separatorPrime Ministers of Israel

Print Friendly


1948-1953         David Ben Gurion
                                   Labour (Resigned – “Psychological strain”)

1953-1955        Moshe Sharett
                            Labour (Resigned for Ben Gurion to return)

1955-1963        David Ben Gurion
                            Labour (Resigned. No reason given.)

1963-1969        Levi Eshkol
                            Labour (Died in office)

1969-1974        Golda Meir
                            Labour (Resigned after Elazar Inquiry into Yom Kippur war)

1974-1977         Yitzchak Rabin
                                    Labour (Resigned over wife’s $2000 US Bank account)

1977                   Shimon Peres
                                    Labour (Caretaker March-May 1977. Then lost election.)

1977-1983          Menachem Begin
                                    Likud (Resigned over Lebanese war and wife’s death.)

1983-1984          Yitzchak Shamir
                                    Likud (No confidence motion over Lebanon.)

1984-1986          Shimon Peres
                                    (Election stalemate – Rotation agreement – two years each)

1986-1992          Yitzchak Shamir
                                     Likud (Defeated at election)

1992-1996          Yitzchak Rabin
                              Labour (Assassinated)

1996                     Shimon Peres
                              Labour (Caretaker – Defeated at election.)

1996-1999           Binyamin Netanyahu
                              Likud  (Defeated at election)

1999-2000           Ehud Barak      
                              Labour (Resigned after coalition break-up)

2001-2005           Ariel Sharon
                                      Likud – Kadimah (incapacitated by stroke.)

2006 - 2009                   Ehud Olmert

2009 -                  Binyamin Netanyahu


 IJS Israel & Judaism Studies | Login | Sitemap

Web Content Management and Intranet solutions by Elcom